Work agent by Anthropic

Claude Cowork

Official page claude.com/product/cowork Facts checked Oct 23, 2026 · AideDex desk

Status card

Available in 185 countries, not in Hong Kong

From $20/mo (Pro) macOS, Windows, Web, iOS, Android

Status
Available
"Generally available on all paid plans" (Apr 9, 2026). Full quote"Generally available on all paid plans" (Apr 9, 2026). Since Sep 16, 2026 Cowork and chat are merging into one Claude, rolling out to Pro and Max first; cloud sessions and web/mobile are in beta on Team and Enterprise.
claude.com · checked
Where
185 countries, not in Hong Kong
All 185 countries

Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Angola, Antigua & Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, Colombia, Comoros, Congo - Brazzaville, Congo - Kinshasa, Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Estonia, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, North Macedonia, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Palestinian Territories, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Rwanda, Samoa, San Marino, São Tomé & Príncipe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Korea, South Sudan, Spain, Sri Lanka, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & Grenadines, Sudan, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad & Tobago, Tunisia, Türkiye, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vatican City, Vietnam, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Covered by Anthropic's supported-regions list, which applies to its apps "such as Claude.ai, Claude Code, and Cowork"; any country not listed is unsupported. Full quoteCovered by Anthropic's supported-regions list, which applies to its apps "such as Claude.ai, Claude Code, and Cowork"; any country not listed is unsupported. Hong Kong, mainland China and Russia are not on it. Anthropic's list takes effect Nov 12, 2026.
anthropic.com · checked
Platforms
macOS, Windows, Web, iOS, Android
Claude Desktop for macOS and Windows on all paid plans; web and mobile on Pro, Max and Team (Enterprise where an admin enables it); Claude… Full quoteClaude Desktop for macOS and Windows on all paid plans; web and mobile on Pro, Max and Team (Enterprise where an admin enables it); Claude in Chrome side panel on Max and Team, rolling out to Pro.
support.claude.com · checked
Price from
$20/mo Pro: $20 billed monthly or $17/mo billed annually ($200 up front); Cowork uses limits faster than chat claude.com · checked
How usage is counted
Shares the plan's usage limits Anthropic: multi-step tasks "use more of your usage than a quick question" (your Claude plan's usage). support.claude.com · checked
Requires
Paid Claude plan (Pro, Max, Team or Enterprise) Local files, browser use and computer use need the Claude Desktop app open and connected. support.claude.com · checked
Launched
Research preview in Claude Desktop (macOS) for Max plans; generally available on all paid plans since Apr 9, 2026. support.claude.com · checked
Status page
status.claude.com Component: Claude Cowork. status.claude.com · checked
Where Anthropic says it works 24 of 25 tracked countries
United States: Paid plan only Canada: Paid plan only United Kingdom: Paid plan only Ireland: Paid plan only Australia: Paid plan only New Zealand: Paid plan only Germany: Paid plan only France: Paid plan only Spain: Paid plan only Italy: Paid plan only Netherlands: Paid plan only Switzerland: Paid plan only India: Paid plan only Pakistan: Paid plan only United Arab Emirates: Paid plan only South Africa: Paid plan only Philippines: Paid plan only Vietnam: Paid plan only Indonesia: Paid plan only Malaysia: Paid plan only Hong Kong: Not listed Singapore: Paid plan only Japan: Paid plan only Brazil: Paid plan only Mexico: Paid plan only
  • Paid plan only 24
  • Not listed 1
  1. United States: Paid plan only
  2. Canada: Paid plan only
  3. United Kingdom: Paid plan only
  4. Ireland: Paid plan only
  5. Australia: Paid plan only
  6. New Zealand: Paid plan only
  7. Germany: Paid plan only
  8. France: Paid plan only
  9. Spain: Paid plan only
  10. Italy: Paid plan only
  11. Netherlands: Paid plan only
  12. Switzerland: Paid plan only
  13. India: Paid plan only
  14. Pakistan: Paid plan only
  15. United Arab Emirates: Paid plan only
  16. South Africa: Paid plan only
  17. Philippines: Paid plan only
  18. Vietnam: Paid plan only
  19. Indonesia: Paid plan only
  20. Malaysia: Paid plan only
  21. Hong Kong: Not listed
  22. Singapore: Paid plan only
  23. Japan: Paid plan only
  24. Brazil: Paid plan only
  25. Mexico: Paid plan only

Can I use Claude Cowork in my country?

Paid plan onlyin 185 countries, not in Hong Kong

Covered by Anthropic's supported-regions list, which applies to its apps "such as Claude.ai, Claude Code, and Cowork"; any country not listed is unsupported. Hong Kong, mainland China and Russia are not on it. Anthropic's list takes effect Nov 12, 2026.

anthropic.com · checked
All 185 countries

Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Angola, Antigua & Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, Colombia, Comoros, Congo - Brazzaville, Congo - Kinshasa, Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Estonia, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, North Macedonia, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Palestinian Territories, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Rwanda, Samoa, San Marino, São Tomé & Príncipe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Korea, South Sudan, Spain, Sri Lanka, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & Grenadines, Sudan, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad & Tobago, Tunisia, Türkiye, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vatican City, Vietnam, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Countries we track (24)

Not listed (1) Hong Kong

Not announced by Anthropic for these countries. That is not the same as blocked.

Plans and price

5 plans · USD per month
Plan Includes Claude Cowork? Price / month Source
Free Cowork is available to paid plans only No Free support.claude.com · checked
Pro $20 billed monthly or $17/mo billed annually ($200 up front); Cowork uses limits faster than chat Yes $20 claude.com · checked
Max Max 5x $100/mo or Max 20x $200/mo Yes $100 claude.com · checked
Team Standard seat $25/seat billed monthly or $20 billed annually; premium seat (5x usage) $125 monthly or $100 annually; 2 to 150 people Yes $25 claude.com · checked
Enterprise US$20/seat/month billed annually, 20-seat minimum, plus usage at API rates Yes Price not published claude.com · checked

What it can do

8 of 17 documented
  • Email Not stated
  • Calendar Not stated
  • Browses the web Yes Opens sites, reads pages, clicks, types and fills forms in a browser built into Claude Desktop, or in your Chrome via Claude in Chrome. support.claude.com · checked
  • Makes purchases Not stated
  • Phone calls Not stated
  • Files Yes On desktop reads and writes local files in folders you connect; produces Excel files with formulas, PowerPoint decks and formatted documents. support.claude.com · checked
  • Writes / runs code Yes Runs code and shell commands in an isolated environment on Anthropic's servers. support.claude.com · checked
  • Messages you first Partly Only tasks you schedule (a report daily, weekly or monthly) that you check in on, including from your phone; no briefs, alerts or messages sent to you are described. claude.com · checked
  • Memory Yes In cloud sessions Claude starts from what it remembers from your chats; can be turned off per task. support.claude.com · checked
  • Multiple agents Yes Breaks complex work into subtasks and coordinates parallel sub-agents. support.claude.com · checked
  • Runs when app is closed Yes Cloud sessions keep working when you close your laptop; scheduled tasks run with no device online. support.claude.com · checked
  • App connectors Yes Connectors to your tools (e.g. Microsoft 365, Amplitude) and plugins that bundle skills, connectors and sub-agents. claude.com · checked
  • Voice Not stated
  • Books travel Not stated
  • Runs an online store Not stated
  • Smart home Not stated
  • Applies for jobs Not stated

Is it safe to connect your accounts?

What Anthropic states about data access, approvals, passwords, training, isolation and retention. We report the vendor's claims; we do not audit them.

  • What it can access

    Claude reads and writes only in folders you connect and uses the connectors you enable. Cloud sessions reach your computer only through the Claude Desktop app while it is open, and only for connected folders. Computer use can click and type in apps you allow and takes screenshots. support.claude.com · checked
  • Asks before sensitive actions

    Depends on your settings
    Depends on the mode: Manual asks before each action; Auto (default on Pro, Max and Team) lets Claude decide and screens each action for safety; Skip approves everything. Full quoteDepends on the mode: Manual asks before each action; Auto (default on Pro, Max and Team) lets Claude decide and screens each action for safety; Skip approves everything. Permanently deleting files always needs your Allow.
    support.claude.com · checked
  • Sees your passwords

    Not published Anthropic does not state this on the pages we checked.
  • Trains on your data

    Yes, unless you opt out Anthropic lists model training as "Opt-out" on Free, Pro and Max; Team and Enterprise: "No model training on your content by default". claude.com · checked
  • Where it runs (isolation)

    Cloud sessions run in an isolated, temporary environment on Anthropic's servers, created for that session, unable to reach your home or company network, and removed when the session ends. Isolation does not limit what Claude can read or do through access you grant. support.claude.com · checked
  • How long data is kept

    A deleted task leaves your task history immediately and Anthropic's back-end storage within 30 days. Cloud sessions and their files are saved to your Claude account. support.claude.com · checked
  • Prompt injection risk is "still non-zero" despite model training, content classifiers and action screening; Anthropic advises against using the browser for sensitive accounts. support.claude.com · checked
  • Scheduled tasks run while you are away: Anthropic advises against scheduling tasks that send messages, make purchases or touch sensitive files. support.claude.com · checked
  • You remain responsible for all actions Claude takes on your behalf, including purchases and messages sent. support.claude.com · checked

How to get Claude Cowork

4 steps
  1. Subscribe to a paid Claude plan (Pro, Max, Team or Enterprise). claude.com
  2. Open Claude on the web, in the desktop app or the mobile app and pick "Cowork" in the message box (in the new unified Claude, just describe the task). support.claude.com
  3. For local files, your browser or computer use, install Claude Desktop for macOS or Windows and connect the folders you want Claude to use. support.claude.com
  4. Choose how Claude checks with you: Manual, Auto or Skip. support.claude.com

Questions people ask about Claude Cowork

7 answers

How much does Claude Cowork cost?

It is included in Pro ($20/month, or $17/month billed annually), Max ($100 or $200/month), Team (from $20 per seat/month) and Enterprise. It is not on the Free plan, and Cowork uses your limits faster than chat.

claude.com · checked

Is Claude Cowork available on Windows?

Yes. Claude Desktop for Windows supports Cowork on all paid plans; you need the latest version of the app.

support.claude.com · checked

Can I use Claude Cowork on my phone?

Yes, on Pro, Max and Team plans in the latest Claude app for iOS and Android (Enterprise where an admin enables it). Tasks run in Anthropic's cloud, so they keep going when your laptop is closed.

support.claude.com · checked

Is Claude Cowork now just Claude?

Yes, gradually. On Sep 16, 2026 Anthropic started merging Cowork and chat into one Claude, rolling out on Pro and Max over the following weeks; Team and Free follow later, and Enterprise admins get at least 30 days' notice. Your chats, projects, connectors and skills carry over.

claude.com · checked

Which countries is Claude Cowork available in?

The countries on Anthropic's supported regions list, which covers Cowork. It includes the US, UK, India, Malaysia, Pakistan, South Africa and the UAE; Hong Kong and mainland China are not listed.

anthropic.com · checked

Is Claude Cowork safe?

Anthropic runs cloud sessions in an isolated, temporary environment, screens untrusted content for prompt injection and always asks before permanently deleting files, but says the risk of attack is still non-zero. It advises giving access only to folders and sites you trust.

support.claude.com · checked

Is Claude Cowork down?

Check Anthropic's official status page at status.claude.com. Component: Claude Cowork. AideDex does not monitor uptime itself.

status.claude.com · checked

Alternatives

9 listed
  • Work agent Limited

    ChatGPT Work

    OpenAI

    Where
    208 countries
    Plan
    Free

    checked

    Why listed Also a work agent: cloud tasks on web and mobile, local files in the Mac and Windows desktop app

  • Work agent Available

    Perplexity Computer

    Perplexity

    No country list published
    Plan
    $200/mo

    checked

    Why listed Also a work agent that runs tasks in the background and builds documents, slides and spreadsheets

  • Work agent Available

    Manus

    Manus AI (Butterfly Effect)

    No country list published
    Plan
    Free

    checked

    Why listed Also a work agent with desktop apps that work on files in folders you authorize

  • Work agent Available

    Lindy

    Lindy

    No country list published
    Plan
    Free

    checked

    Why listed Also a work agent (same kind)

  • Always-on agent Waitlist

    Claude Duet

    Anthropic

    Where
    US
    Plan
    $20/mo

    checked

    Why listed Same vendor; Duet is Anthropic's always-on agent and carries over your Claude account's memory and apps

  • Always-on agent Limited

    ChatGPT dots

    OpenAI

    Where
    About 176 countries
    Plan
    $100/mo

    checked

    Why listed Also keeps working in the cloud while your computer is off

  • Why listed Also runs scheduled tasks from the web, mobile and a Mac app

  • Always-on agent Beta

    Grok Bot

    xAI (SpaceXSI)

    No country list published
    Plan
    $30/mo

    checked

    Why listed Also runs scheduled routines on a cloud computer, with desktop and mobile apps

  • Self-hosted Available

    OpenClaw

    OpenClaw Foundation

    Where
    Worldwide
    Plan
    Free

    checked

    Why listed Open-source agent you run yourself instead of in a vendor's cloud

  • Available
  • Paid plan only
  • Other plan only
  • Waitlist
  • No country list
  • Not listed
  • Excluded

What changed

8 entries
  1. Feature Cowork and chat started merging into one Claude, rolling out to Pro and Max. claude.com · re-checked
  2. Feature Built-in browser for web tasks in the Cowork desktop app. claude.com · re-checked
  3. Availability Cowork on web and mobile, starting with Max; sessions run remotely in the cloud. support.claude.com · re-checked
  4. Status Generally available on macOS and Windows through the Claude Desktop app. support.claude.com · re-checked
  5. Feature Scheduled and on-demand tasks in Cowork. support.claude.com · re-checked
  6. Feature Plugin marketplace and admin controls for Team and Enterprise. support.claude.com · re-checked
  7. Availability Research preview expanded to Pro plans (macOS only). support.claude.com · re-checked
  8. Status Cowork research preview in Claude Desktop (macOS only) for Max plans. support.claude.com · re-checked

Sources

10 pages
  1. support.claude.com/en/articles/12138966-release-notes — launch date, changelog
  2. claude.com/resources/articles/cowork-for-enterprise — status
  3. www.anthropic.com/legal/supported-regions — regions, FAQ
  4. support.claude.com/en/articles/13345190-get-started-with-claude-cowork — platforms, requirements, plans, capabilities, safety, retention, how to get it, FAQ
  5. support.claude.com/en/articles/13345190 — how usage is counted
  6. status.claude.com/ — status page
  7. claude.com/product/cowork — plans, capabilities, FAQ, changelog
  8. claude.com/pricing — plans, data use, how to get it
  9. support.claude.com/en/articles/13364135-use-claude-cowork-safely — data access, safety, FAQ
  10. claude.com/resources/articles/cowork-is-now-claude — FAQ, changelog
Cite this page

AideDex desk. (2026, October 23). Claude Cowork: availability, price and what it can do. AideDex. https://aidedex.com/agents/claude-cowork/

Facts last checked . Data files: agents.json · availability.csv (CC BY 4.0, credit "AideDex" with a link).

Newsletter · one email a week at most

Get changes by email

Launches, new countries, waitlists, plan and price changes across the tracked agents. About the newsletter

Spotted something wrong or out of date? Report an error · Corrections log