Work agent

ChatGPT Work

by OpenAI · official page: openai.com/index/chatgpt-for-your-most-ambitious-work

Facts checked Oct 22, 2026 · by AideDex desk

Available worldwide , Free , Web, iOS, Android, macOS, Windows

openai.com · checked
Status
Available Rolled out to Pro, Enterprise and Edu first, then Plus and Business; desktop app with Chat, Work and Codex on every plan including Free. openai.com · checked more
Where
Worldwide "The updated ChatGPT desktop app is available globally today for Mac and Windows." openai.com · checked
Platforms
Web, iOS, Android, macOS, Windows Web, mobile and desktop; local files, apps and Computer Use on desktop only. openai.com · checked
Price from
Free Free: Work available in the desktop app; usage limited by plan openai.com · checked
Requires
Any ChatGPT plan on desktop (including Free); on web and mobile: Plus, Pro, Business, Enterprise or Edu openai.com · checked
Launched
openai.com · checked

Can I use ChatGPT Work in my country?

all countries

Available worldwide

"The updated ChatGPT desktop app is available globally today for Mac and Windows."

openai.com · checked

Plans and price

4 plans · USD per month

OpenAI does not publish a full price for ChatGPT Work. Plans are listed as the vendor names them; a missing price is shown as "not published", never guessed.

Plan Includes ChatGPT Work? Price / month Source
Free Work available in the desktop app; usage limited by plan Yes Free openai.com · checked
Plus Price not stated in the announcement Yes Price not published openai.com · checked
Pro Price not stated in the announcement Yes Price not published openai.com · checked
Business / Enterprise / Edu Yes Price not published openai.com · checked

What it can do

7 of 13 capabilities documented
  • Email Yes Via email plugins. openai.com · checked
  • Calendar Yes Via calendar plugins. openai.com · checked
  • Browses the web Yes Built-in browser on desktop; Chrome sidebar extension. openai.com · checked
  • Makes purchases Not stated
  • Phone calls Not stated
  • Files Yes Uses local files and apps on desktop; creates sheets, slides, docs and Sites. openai.com · checked
  • Writes / runs code Yes Codex is built in. openai.com · checked
  • Proactive briefs Not stated
  • Memory Not stated
  • Multiple agents Not stated
  • Runs when app is closed Yes Scheduled Tasks keep projects moving when you are away. openai.com · checked
  • App connectors Yes Plugins for Slack, Teams, Google Drive, SharePoint, email, calendars, CRMs. openai.com · checked
  • Voice Not stated

Is it safe to connect your accounts?

What OpenAI states about approvals, passwords, training and isolation. We report the vendor's claims; we do not audit them.

Asks before sensitive actions
YesYou decide when it needs approval; auto-review checks important actions involving connected tools before they happen. openai.com · checked
Sees your passwords
Not stated
Trains on your data
Not stated
Isolation
Not stated

How to get ChatGPT Work

2 steps
  1. Download the ChatGPT desktop app for Mac or Windows (Work is available on every plan there). openai.com
  2. Connect your tools with plugins, then give Work a task or a Scheduled Task. openai.com

Questions people ask about ChatGPT Work

4 answers

What happened to ChatGPT agent mode?

OpenAI’s help center now says "ChatGPT agent is no longer available" and points users to ChatGPT Work for longer, multi-step tasks, and to the cloud browser for supported browser workflows.

help.openai.com · checked

What replaced ChatGPT agent?

ChatGPT Work, launched on July 9, 2026, an agent that takes action across your apps and files and can stay with a project for hours.

help.openai.com · checked

What happened to ChatGPT Atlas?

In the ChatGPT Work announcement (July 9, 2026), OpenAI said it would begin sunsetting the standalone Atlas browser and moved browsing into the ChatGPT desktop app and a Chrome sidebar extension.

openai.com · checked

Is ChatGPT Work free?

In the desktop app, Chat, Work and Codex are available on every plan, including Free. More complex tasks use more of your plan’s included usage.

openai.com · checked

Alternatives

4 cards
  • Always-on agent

    ChatGPT dots

    OpenAI

    • Status Limited (Limited rollout)
    • Where Global except 32 (Global except 32)
    • Plan Price not published (Included in ChatGPT Pro; price not published)

    checked

  • Always-on agent

    Claude Duet

    Anthropic

    • Status Waitlist (Waitlist)
    • Where US (United States)
    • Plan $20/mo (Cheapest plan that includes it: Pro)

    checked

  • Work agent

    Perplexity Computer

    Perplexity

    • Status Available (Available)
    • Where No country list (The vendor publishes no country list)
    • Plan Price not published (Included in Perplexity Max; price not published)

    checked

  • Assistant app

    Copilot Actions on Windows

    Microsoft

    • Status Preview (Preview)
    • Where Global except 30 (Global except 30)
    • Plan Price not published (Included in Windows Insider (Copilot Labs); price not published)

    checked

What changed

1 entries · all agents
  1. ChatGPT Work launched; Codex app merged into the new ChatGPT desktop app; OpenAI announced it would sunset the Atlas browser. openai.com

Sources

2 pages
  1. openai.com/index/chatgpt-for-your-most-ambitious-work/ — launch date, status, regions, platforms, requirements, plans, capabilities, safety, how to get it, FAQ, changelog
  2. help.openai.com/en/articles/11752874 — FAQ

Spotted something wrong or out of date? Report an error · Corrections log