Self-hosted

OpenClaw

by OpenClaw Foundation · official page: openclaw.ai

Facts checked Oct 22, 2026 · by AideDex desk

Available worldwide , Free , macOS, Windows, Linux, iOS, Android, Self-host, WhatsApp, Slack

openclaw.ai · checked
Status
Available Stable releases ship continuously (v2026.10.6 published 2026-10-22). api.github.com · checked
Where
Worldwide Open-source software you install yourself; no region limits. openclaw.ai · checked
Platforms
macOS, Windows, Linux, iOS, Android, Self-host, WhatsApp, Slack Desktop apps for macOS, Windows (beta) and Linux; iOS/Android node apps; chat via WhatsApp, Telegram, Discord, Slack, Signal, iMessage and other channels (29 total). openclaw.ai · checked more
Price from
Free Open source (MIT): "There is no enterprise edition and no paid version." You pay your own model/API and hosting costs. openclaw.ai · checked more
Launched
api.github.com · checked
GitHub repository creation date. Project was called Clawdbot, then Moltbot (Jan 27, 2026), then OpenClaw three days later. api.github.com · checked

Can I use OpenClaw in my country?

all countries

Available worldwide

Open-source software you install yourself; no region limits.

openclaw.ai · checked

Plans and price

1 plans · USD per month
Plan Includes OpenClaw? Price / month Source
Open source (MIT) "There is no enterprise edition and no paid version." You pay your own model/API and hosting costs. Yes Free openclaw.ai · checked

What it can do

9 of 13 capabilities documented
  • Email Yes Mail integrations listed in the ecosystem. openclaw.ai · checked
  • Calendar Yes Calendar briefings appear in the official showcase. openclaw.ai · checked
  • Browses the web Yes Browser app is part of the agent harness. en.wikipedia.org · checked
  • Makes purchases Not stated
  • Phone calls Not stated
  • Files Yes docs.openclaw.ai · checked
  • Writes / runs code Yes Showcase: diagnosed failed builds, changed configs and submitted a PR over voice. openclaw.ai · checked
  • Proactive briefs Not stated
  • Memory Yes Docs cover sandboxing and memory. docs.openclaw.ai · checked
  • Multiple agents Not stated
  • Runs when app is closed Yes Runs as a gateway on your own machine or server; cron jobs and wakeups. docs.openclaw.ai · checked
  • App connectors Yes Skills and plugins via ClawHub; 29 chat channels. openclaw.ai · checked
  • Voice Yes Talk mode in the mobile apps. openclaw.ai · checked

Is it safe to connect your accounts?

What OpenClaw Foundation states about approvals, passwords, training and isolation. We report the vendor's claims; we do not audit them.

Asks before sensitive actions
Not stated
Sees your passwords
Not stated
Trains on your data
NoBy default an install sends the Foundation only a daily version check, which you can turn off. Your model provider’s terms apply separately. openclaw.ai · checked
Isolation
Depends on how you configure it; the docs recommend keeping tool policy and sandboxing conservative until you trust the setup. docs.openclaw.ai · checked
  • CVE-2026-25253 (published 2026-02-01): versions before 2026.1.29 took a gatewayUrl from a query string and connected automatically, sending a token. Update to a current release. nvd.nist.gov · checked
  • Skills from ClawHub are third-party code; Snyk found 283 of 3,984 skills (7.1%) exposing credentials. snyk.io · checked

Open source

Repository
openclaw/openclaw
License
MIT api.github.com · checked
GitHub stars
392,756 api.github.com · checked

How to get OpenClaw

3 steps
  1. Install with the one-liner (curl -fsSL https://openclaw.ai/install.sh | bash), npm i -g openclaw, or a desktop app for macOS/Windows/Linux. openclaw.ai
  2. Run openclaw onboard to set up your model provider and chat channels. openclaw.ai
  3. Read the Security and access control docs before connecting accounts. docs.openclaw.ai

Questions people ask about OpenClaw

5 answers

Is OpenClaw free?

Yes. OpenClaw is MIT-licensed and the Foundation says "there is no enterprise edition and no paid version". You still pay for the AI model/API you connect and any server you run it on.

openclaw.ai · checked

What happened to Clawdbot?

Clawdbot was renamed Moltbot on January 27, 2026 after trademark complaints, and three days later renamed OpenClaw.

en.wikipedia.org · checked

Is OpenClaw safe now?

It depends on your setup. A one-click token-theft bug (CVE-2026-25253) was fixed in 2026.1.29, and researchers have found credential-leaking skills on ClawHub. The docs advise conservative tool and sandbox settings until you trust the setup. See our Gmail safety guide.

nvd.nist.gov · checked

Is there an OpenClaw iPhone or Android app?

Yes. OpenClaw lists iOS and Android node apps that pair with your own gateway (chat, Talk mode, remote action approvals).

openclaw.ai · checked

OpenClaw vs Hermes Agent: what is the difference?

Both are MIT-licensed self-hosted agents. OpenClaw is run by the OpenClaw Foundation and centers on a gateway you message from 29 chat channels; Hermes Agent is by Nous Research and describes itself as "the agent that grows with you".

api.github.com · checked

Alternatives

4 cards
  • Self-hosted

    Hermes Agent

    Nous Research

    • Status Available (Available)
    • Where Worldwide (Worldwide)
    • Plan Free (Included in Open source (MIT))

    checked

  • Always-on agent

    Genspark Claw

    Genspark

    • Status Available (Available)
    • Where No country list (The vendor publishes no country list)
    • Plan Free (Included in Local mode (desktop app))

    checked

  • Work agent

    Perplexity Computer

    Perplexity

    • Status Available (Available)
    • Where No country list (The vendor publishes no country list)
    • Plan Price not published (Included in Perplexity Max; price not published)

    checked

  • Always-on agent

    Grok Bot

    xAI (SpaceXSI)

    • Status Available (Available)
    • Where No country list (The vendor publishes no country list)
    • Plan $30/mo (Cheapest plan that includes it: Premium)

    checked

What changed

4 entries · all agents
  1. Release v2026.10.6 published on GitHub. github.com
  2. OpenClaw 2.0 (v2026.8.1) released by the OpenClaw Foundation. en.wikipedia.org
  3. CVE-2026-25253 published (fixed in 2026.1.29). nvd.nist.gov
  4. Project renamed from Clawdbot to Moltbot; renamed OpenClaw three days later. en.wikipedia.org

Sources

8 pages
  1. api.github.com/repos/openclaw/openclaw — launch date, status, FAQ, license, stars
  2. openclaw.ai/ — regions, platforms, plans, capabilities, data use, how to get it, FAQ
  3. en.wikipedia.org/wiki/OpenClaw — capabilities, FAQ, changelog
  4. docs.openclaw.ai/start/openclaw — capabilities, safety, how to get it
  5. nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2026-25253 — safety, FAQ, changelog
  6. snyk.io/blog/openclaw-skills-credential-leaks-research/ — safety
  7. github.com/openclaw/openclaw/releases — changelog
  8. github.com/openclaw/openclaw — repository

Spotted something wrong or out of date? Report an error · Corrections log