Compare facts only, no winner

ChatGPT dots vs OpenClaw

Facts only, side by side. Listed as alternatives to each other. No winner: which one fits depends on your country, plan and what you need it to do.

Facts checked up to

ChatGPT dots : Limited rollout in about 176 countries, not in 9 of the 25 countries we track (8 of them on ChatGPT Business Premium) , From $100/mo (ChatGPT Pro) , iOS, Android, Web, Windows, macOS, Slack

OpenClaw : Available worldwide , Free , macOS, Windows, Linux, iOS, Android, Self-host, WhatsApp, Slack

Main differences (from vendor pages)

Fact ChatGPT dots OpenClaw
Price From $100/mo (ChatGPT Pro) Free
Where Limited rollout in about 176 countries, not in 9 of the 25 countries we track (8 of them on ChatGPT Business Premium) Available worldwide
Minimum age 18+ —
Platforms iOS, Android, Web, Windows, macOS, Slack macOS, Windows, Linux, iOS, Android, Self-host, WhatsApp, Slack
Makes purchases Yes Partly
Phone calls — Yes

Status

ChatGPT dots Limited rollout
OpenClaw Available

Access

10 rows
Fact ChatGPT dots OpenClaw
Vendor ChatGPT dots: OpenAI openai.com OpenClaw: OpenClaw Foundation openclaw.ai
Kind ChatGPT dots: Always-on agent OpenClaw: Self-hosted
Status ChatGPT dots: Limited rollout Rolling out gradually to Pro and Business Premium; beta for Enterprise/Edu/Healthcare when an admin enables it. help.openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Available Stable releases ship continuously; latest stable v2026.10.6 published 2026-10-22 (v2026.10.10 in beta). github.com · checked
Launched ChatGPT dots: Sep 29, 2026 openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Nov 24, 2025 api.github.com · checked
Where ChatGPT dots: About 176 countries (ChatGPT's supported list minus the Pro exclusions (EEA, UK, Switzerland)), not in 9 of the 25 countries we track (8 of them on ChatGPT Business Premium)
See all 176 Afghanistan, Åland Islands, Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Angola, Antigua & Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Aruba, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Benin, Bermuda, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Cape Verde, Cayman Islands, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, Colombia, Comoros, Congo - Brazzaville, Congo - Kinshasa, Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Faroe Islands, Fiji, French Guiana, French Polynesia, French Southern Territories, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Greenland, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Israel, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Martinique, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mayotte, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar (Burma), Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, North Macedonia, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Palestinian Territories, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Qatar, Réunion, Rwanda, Samoa, San Marino, São Tomé & Príncipe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Korea, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, St. Barthélemy, St. Helena, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Martin, St. Pierre & Miquelon, St. Vincent & Grenadines, Sudan, Suriname, Svalbard & Jan Mayen, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad & Tobago, Tunisia, Türkiye, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United States, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vatican City, Vietnam, Wallis & Futuna, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe
help.openai.com · checked
OpenClaw: Worldwide openclaw.ai · checked
Excluded ChatGPT dots: 32 countries European Economic Area, Switzerland and the UK (Pro plan).
See all 32 Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom
help.openai.com · checked
OpenClaw: None stated
Platforms ChatGPT dots: iOS, Android, Web, Windows, macOS, Slack help.openai.com · checked OpenClaw: macOS, Windows, Linux, iOS, Android, Self-host, WhatsApp, Slack openclaw.ai · checked
Requires ChatGPT dots: ChatGPT Pro or Business Premium (Enterprise beta if admin enables) help.openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Node 24.22.1+ or 26.12.1+ (installer and desktop apps install it for you) plus your own model provider account or local model. github.com · checked
Minimum age ChatGPT dots: 18+ help.openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Not stated
Price from ChatGPT dots: $100/month ChatGPT Pro help.openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Free Open source (MIT) openclaw.ai · checked

What it can do

15 rows
Fact ChatGPT dots OpenClaw
Email ChatGPT dots: Yes Can use your connected personal email; no standalone dot email address at launch. help.openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Yes Gmail integration: read, draft and manage email; homepage: "Organizes your inbox, sends emails". openclaw.ai · checked
Calendar ChatGPT dots: Yes Example: review your calendar each morning. help.openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Yes "Manages your calendar" (OpenClaw site). openclaw.ai · checked
Browses the web ChatGPT dots: Yes Own cloud computer and browser; you can open it to inspect work. openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Yes Browses the web and fills forms in an OpenClaw-managed browser. openclaw.ai · checked
Makes purchases ChatGPT dots: Yes Can buy using a card already saved on a merchant's website; purchases require your approval (can be given in advance if specific). Transferring money between accounts must be done by you. help.openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Partly No built-in checkout; a community showcase on the official site shows an assistant "ordering things" via browser/skills. openclaw.ai · checked
Phone calls ChatGPT dots: Not stated OpenClaw: Yes Voice Call plugin places outbound and accepts inbound calls via Twilio, Telnyx or Plivo. docs.openclaw.ai · checked
Files ChatGPT dots: Yes Creates files on its own cloud computer; optional access to files on your own computer via the desktop app, off by default. help.openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Yes Reads and writes files and runs shell commands, with full access or sandboxed. openclaw.ai · checked
Writes / runs code ChatGPT dots: Yes Can write and test code and create Codex cloud tasks. help.openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Yes Runs shell commands; GitHub integration for issues and pull requests. openclaw.ai · checked
Messages you first ChatGPT dots: Yes Reminders, recurring checks (e.g. a morning calendar review) and unprompted suggestions arrive in the dot's conversation; a limited US Pro texting beta can text you. It cannot call you at launch. help.openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Yes Setup adds a "Proactive check" job that runs every 30 minutes and delivers to your DM; you can edit its schedule, prompt and delivery. docs.openclaw.ai · checked
Memory ChatGPT dots: Yes Receives ChatGPT memories and creates its own. help.openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Yes Remembers preferences, projects and people across sessions; stored on your machine. docs.openclaw.ai · checked
Multiple agents ChatGPT dots: Partly Dots can delegate work to other agents; OpenAI envisions teams of dots in future. openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Yes Multi-agent routing with separate agents bound to channel accounts. docs.openclaw.ai · checked
Runs when app is closed ChatGPT dots: Yes Works toward goals 24/7. openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Yes Gateway scheduler runs scheduled jobs, webhooks and Gmail PubSub triggers while the host is running. docs.openclaw.ai · checked
App connectors ChatGPT dots: Yes Plugins connect to over 4,000 apps. openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Yes Skills and plugins (ClawHub), 29 chat channels; smart home: Hue integration controls lights from chat. openclaw.ai · checked
Voice ChatGPT dots: Yes You can call your dot from its conversation (phone button); it cannot initiate calls to you at launch. help.openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Yes Talk mode in the iOS/Android apps; realtime voice on phone calls via the Voice Call plugin. openclaw.ai · checked
Books travel ChatGPT dots: Not stated OpenClaw: Partly The OpenClaw site lists checking you in for flights; booking travel is not described. openclaw.ai · checked
Smart home ChatGPT dots: Not stated OpenClaw: Yes Philips Hue integration: control your lights from chat. openclaw.ai · checked

Safety (as stated by the vendor)

6 rows
Fact ChatGPT dots OpenClaw
Data it can access ChatGPT dots: Uses the plugins you connect in ChatGPT (shared with ChatGPT, Work and Codex) within granted permissions, plus optional local computer access once you connect your computer and grant the ChatGPT app camera, microphone or screen permission. Proactive research can read permitted connected sources and save private notes, but cannot send messages, change content through plugins, or control a browser or computer. Manage plugins in the Plugins tab; disconnecting does not delete what the dot already learned. help.openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Whatever you connect — chat channels, Gmail, GitHub, MCP servers, plus shell/files/browser on the host unless sandboxed. Credentials are stored under ~/.openclaw (config, credentials/, SQLite stores). docs.openclaw.ai · checked
Asks before sensitive actions ChatGPT dots: Yes Changing a password or transferring money requires you to take over; deleting data or installing software may need approval each time; Auto-review checks actions first. help.openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Depends on your settings Host commands run only when policy + allowlist + (optional) user approval agree; modes include deny, allowlist, ask, auto and full. docs.openclaw.ai · checked
Sees your passwords ChatGPT dots: No Secure sign-in and saved passwords are kept out of the model's context; passwords you paste into chat or documents are not covered. openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Not stated
Trains on your data ChatGPT dots: Yes, unless you opt out Personal plans: controlled by "Improve the model for everyone" (on by default per Data controls). Business/Enterprise/Edu not used by default. Not trained directly on proactive research notes. help.openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Not clearly stated Not published: OpenClaw makes no statement on whether prompts are used for model training. Its site says "Bring hosted, subscription-backed, gateway, or local models" and "State lives on your machine, not a vendor cloud", and that by default an install sends the Foundation "nothing but a daily version check", which you can turn off. openclaw.ai · checked
Isolation ChatGPT dots: Each dot has its own sandboxed cloud computer (Linux + Chrome), isolated from other users; your computer stays separate unless you connect it. openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Runs on your own machine. Tool sandboxing (Docker, Podman, SSH, OpenShell and other backends) is off by default and set via agents.defaults.sandbox; the Gateway process itself stays on the host. Docs: "not a perfect security boundary". docs.openclaw.ai · checked
Retention ChatGPT dots: A dot keeps context from conversations and plugins for as long as you keep it; you cannot view or delete individual dot memories, only delete the whole dot. Files, Codex threads and chats it created are stored separately and are not deleted with it. help.openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Session transcripts (which can contain private messages and tool output) stay on your machine in ~/.openclaw until you delete them. Docs advise full-disk encryption and 600/700 file permissions. docs.openclaw.ai · checked

By country

25 rows
Fact ChatGPT dots OpenClaw
United States ChatGPT dots: Paid plan only help.openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Available openclaw.ai · checked
Canada ChatGPT dots: Paid plan only help.openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Available openclaw.ai · checked
United Kingdom ChatGPT dots: On ChatGPT Business Premium only help.openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Available openclaw.ai · checked
Ireland ChatGPT dots: On ChatGPT Business Premium only help.openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Available openclaw.ai · checked
Australia ChatGPT dots: Paid plan only help.openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Available openclaw.ai · checked
New Zealand ChatGPT dots: Paid plan only help.openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Available openclaw.ai · checked
Germany ChatGPT dots: On ChatGPT Business Premium only help.openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Available openclaw.ai · checked
France ChatGPT dots: On ChatGPT Business Premium only help.openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Available openclaw.ai · checked
Spain ChatGPT dots: On ChatGPT Business Premium only help.openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Available openclaw.ai · checked
Italy ChatGPT dots: On ChatGPT Business Premium only help.openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Available openclaw.ai · checked
Netherlands ChatGPT dots: On ChatGPT Business Premium only help.openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Available openclaw.ai · checked
Switzerland ChatGPT dots: On ChatGPT Business Premium only help.openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Available openclaw.ai · checked
India ChatGPT dots: Paid plan only help.openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Available openclaw.ai · checked
Pakistan ChatGPT dots: Paid plan only help.openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Available openclaw.ai · checked
United Arab Emirates ChatGPT dots: Paid plan only help.openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Available openclaw.ai · checked
South Africa ChatGPT dots: Paid plan only help.openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Available openclaw.ai · checked
Philippines ChatGPT dots: Paid plan only help.openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Available openclaw.ai · checked
Vietnam ChatGPT dots: Paid plan only help.openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Available openclaw.ai · checked
Indonesia ChatGPT dots: Paid plan only help.openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Available openclaw.ai · checked
Malaysia ChatGPT dots: Paid plan only help.openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Available openclaw.ai · checked
Hong Kong ChatGPT dots: Not listed help.openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Available openclaw.ai · checked
Singapore ChatGPT dots: Paid plan only help.openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Available openclaw.ai · checked
Japan ChatGPT dots: Paid plan only help.openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Available openclaw.ai · checked
Brazil ChatGPT dots: Paid plan only help.openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Available openclaw.ai · checked
Mexico ChatGPT dots: Paid plan only help.openai.com · checked OpenClaw: Available openclaw.ai · checked

Freshness

1 row
Fact ChatGPT dots OpenClaw
Last fact checked ChatGPT dots: Oct 23, 2026 OpenClaw: Oct 23, 2026

Full details, FAQ and change history: ChatGPT dots · OpenClaw. Where sources disagree, both claims are on the agent page.

Spotted something wrong or out of date? Report an error · Corrections log