Compare facts only, no winner

ChatGPT dots vs Instinct

Facts only, side by side. Listed as alternatives to each other. No winner: which one fits depends on your country, plan and what you need it to do.

Facts checked up to

ChatGPT dots : Limited rollout in about 176 countries, not in 9 of the 25 countries we track (8 of them on ChatGPT Business Premium) , From $100/mo (ChatGPT Pro) , iOS, Android, Web, Windows, macOS, Slack

Instinct : Waitlist · no country list published , No plan listed , Web, macOS

Main differences (from vendor pages)

Fact ChatGPT dots Instinct
Price From $100/mo (ChatGPT Pro) No plan listed
Where Limited rollout in about 176 countries, not in 9 of the 25 countries we track (8 of them on ChatGPT Business Premium) Waitlist with no country list published
Platforms iOS, Android, Web, Windows, macOS, Slack Web, macOS
Email Yes —
Calendar Yes —
Files Yes —

Status

ChatGPT dots Limited rollout
Instinct Waitlist

Access

10 rows
Fact ChatGPT dots Instinct
Vendor ChatGPT dots: OpenAI openai.com Instinct: Instinct (Spear Street Technology) instinct.com
Kind ChatGPT dots: Always-on agent Instinct: Always-on agent
Status ChatGPT dots: Limited rollout Rolling out gradually to Pro and Business Premium; beta for Enterprise/Edu/Healthcare when an admin enables it. help.openai.com · checked Instinct: Waitlist Invite-only early access. The terms mention "a welcome text when your spot becomes available" and "waitlist updates"; the Oct 5, 2026 group-chat post says features roll out to early access users first and "to everyone soon". instinct.com · checked
Launched ChatGPT dots: Sep 29, 2026 openai.com · checked Instinct: Aug 26, 2026 x.com · checked
Where ChatGPT dots: About 176 countries (ChatGPT's supported list minus the Pro exclusions (EEA, UK, Switzerland)), not in 9 of the 25 countries we track (8 of them on ChatGPT Business Premium)
See all 176 Afghanistan, Åland Islands, Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Angola, Antigua & Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Aruba, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Benin, Bermuda, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Cape Verde, Cayman Islands, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, Colombia, Comoros, Congo - Brazzaville, Congo - Kinshasa, Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Faroe Islands, Fiji, French Guiana, French Polynesia, French Southern Territories, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Greenland, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Israel, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Martinique, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mayotte, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar (Burma), Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, North Macedonia, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Palestinian Territories, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Qatar, Réunion, Rwanda, Samoa, San Marino, São Tomé & Príncipe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Korea, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, St. Barthélemy, St. Helena, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Martin, St. Pierre & Miquelon, St. Vincent & Grenadines, Sudan, Suriname, Svalbard & Jan Mayen, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad & Tobago, Tunisia, Türkiye, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United States, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vatican City, Vietnam, Wallis & Futuna, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe
help.openai.com · checked
Instinct: No country list published instinct.com · checked
Excluded ChatGPT dots: 32 countries European Economic Area, Switzerland and the UK (Pro plan).
See all 32 Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom
help.openai.com · checked
Instinct: None stated
Platforms ChatGPT dots: iOS, Android, Web, Windows, macOS, Slack help.openai.com · checked Instinct: Web, macOS instinct.com · checked
Requires ChatGPT dots: ChatGPT Pro or Business Premium (Enterprise beta if admin enables) help.openai.com · checked Instinct: An early access invitation (invite-only beta) and a phone number for sign-in codes x.com · checked
Minimum age ChatGPT dots: 18+ help.openai.com · checked Instinct: 18+ instinct.com · checked
Price from ChatGPT dots: $100/month ChatGPT Pro help.openai.com · checked Instinct: No plan listed

What it can do

13 rows
Fact ChatGPT dots Instinct
Email ChatGPT dots: Yes Can use your connected personal email; no standalone dot email address at launch. help.openai.com · checked Instinct: Not stated
Calendar ChatGPT dots: Yes Example: review your calendar each morning. help.openai.com · checked Instinct: Not stated
Browses the web ChatGPT dots: Yes Own cloud computer and browser; you can open it to inspect work. openai.com · checked Instinct: Yes "It can use a phone and computer in the same way that you do." instinct.com · checked
Makes purchases ChatGPT dots: Yes Can buy using a card already saved on a merchant's website; purchases require your approval (can be given in advance if specific). Transferring money between accounts must be done by you. help.openai.com · checked Instinct: Yes Can make purchases on sites you connect and shares your payment method with that site; Instinct itself does not process the payment. Homepage examples: order groceries, send flowers. instinct.com · checked
Files ChatGPT dots: Yes Creates files on its own cloud computer; optional access to files on your own computer via the desktop app, off by default. help.openai.com · checked Instinct: Not stated
Writes / runs code ChatGPT dots: Yes Can write and test code and create Codex cloud tasks. help.openai.com · checked Instinct: Not stated
Messages you first ChatGPT dots: Yes Reminders, recurring checks (e.g. a morning calendar review) and unprompted suggestions arrive in the dot's conversation; a limited US Pro texting beta can text you. It cannot call you at launch. help.openai.com · checked Instinct: Not stated
Memory ChatGPT dots: Yes Receives ChatGPT memories and creates its own. help.openai.com · checked Instinct: Not stated
Multiple agents ChatGPT dots: Partly Dots can delegate work to other agents; OpenAI envisions teams of dots in future. openai.com · checked Instinct: Yes Group chats (Oct 5, 2026, early access): a separate group Instinct works for the whole chat; your personal Instinct asks before connecting to it and before sharing anything. x.com · checked
Runs when app is closed ChatGPT dots: Yes Works toward goals 24/7. openai.com · checked Instinct: Not stated
App connectors ChatGPT dots: Yes Plugins connect to over 4,000 apps. openai.com · checked Instinct: Yes Connects third-party accounts (the privacy policy names Google Workspace) and indexes their data; manage them in Instinct's Workspace. instinct.com · checked
Voice ChatGPT dots: Yes You can call your dot from its conversation (phone button); it cannot initiate calls to you at launch. help.openai.com · checked Instinct: Yes You can call Instinct as well as text it. instinct.com · checked
Books travel ChatGPT dots: Not stated Instinct: Yes Homepage example: "book a train home for the weekend". instinct.com · checked

Safety (as stated by the vendor)

6 rows
Fact ChatGPT dots Instinct
Data it can access ChatGPT dots: Uses the plugins you connect in ChatGPT (shared with ChatGPT, Work and Codex) within granted permissions, plus optional local computer access once you connect your computer and grant the ChatGPT app camera, microphone or screen permission. Proactive research can read permitted connected sources and save private notes, but cannot send messages, change content through plugins, or control a browser or computer. Manage plugins in the Plugins tab; disconnecting does not delete what the dot already learned. help.openai.com · checked Instinct: Instinct indexes data from the accounts you connect and can act on them for you, including signing in with usernames and passwords you give it. Disconnecting an account does not delete what was indexed; delete it at app.instinct.com/workspace. instinct.com · checked
Asks before sensitive actions ChatGPT dots: Yes Changing a password or transferring money requires you to take over; deleting data or installing software may need approval each time; Auto-review checks actions first. help.openai.com · checked Instinct: Depends on your settings The terms authorize Instinct to take actions "as the Services may deem are responsive to your Input" and say it "may implement safeguards, confirmation requirements, or other controls on certain Actions" without promising them; you are responsible for configuring extra safeguards. In group chats your personal Instinct checks your permissions before sharing or acting. instinct.com · checked
Sees your passwords ChatGPT dots: No Secure sign-in and saved passwords are kept out of the model's context; passwords you paste into chat or documents are not covered. openai.com · checked Instinct: Yes The privacy policy gives the example of giving the assistant "your username and password for third-party accounts so that the personal assistant can sign into these accounts on your behalf". instinct.com · checked
Trains on your data ChatGPT dots: Yes, unless you opt out Personal plans: controlled by "Improve the model for everyone" (on by default per Data controls). Business/Enterprise/Edu not used by default. Not trained directly on proactive research notes. help.openai.com · checked Instinct: Yes, unless you opt out Materials may be used to train AI models unless you opt out at app.instinct.com/settings; material flagged for safety review may still be used after opt-out. Items you add to the Vault are never used for training. instinct.com · checked
Isolation ChatGPT dots: Each dot has its own sandboxed cloud computer (Linux + Chrome), isolated from other users; your computer stays separate unless you connect it. openai.com · checked Instinct: Not stated
Retention ChatGPT dots: A dot keeps context from conversations and plugins for as long as you keep it; you cannot view or delete individual dot memories, only delete the whole dot. Files, Codex threads and chats it created are stored separately and are not deleted with it. help.openai.com · checked Instinct: Not stated

By country

25 rows
Fact ChatGPT dots Instinct
United States ChatGPT dots: Paid plan only help.openai.com · checked Instinct: No country list published instinct.com · checked
Canada ChatGPT dots: Paid plan only help.openai.com · checked Instinct: No country list published instinct.com · checked
United Kingdom ChatGPT dots: On ChatGPT Business Premium only help.openai.com · checked Instinct: No country list published instinct.com · checked
Ireland ChatGPT dots: On ChatGPT Business Premium only help.openai.com · checked Instinct: No country list published instinct.com · checked
Australia ChatGPT dots: Paid plan only help.openai.com · checked Instinct: No country list published instinct.com · checked
New Zealand ChatGPT dots: Paid plan only help.openai.com · checked Instinct: No country list published instinct.com · checked
Germany ChatGPT dots: On ChatGPT Business Premium only help.openai.com · checked Instinct: No country list published instinct.com · checked
France ChatGPT dots: On ChatGPT Business Premium only help.openai.com · checked Instinct: No country list published instinct.com · checked
Spain ChatGPT dots: On ChatGPT Business Premium only help.openai.com · checked Instinct: No country list published instinct.com · checked
Italy ChatGPT dots: On ChatGPT Business Premium only help.openai.com · checked Instinct: No country list published instinct.com · checked
Netherlands ChatGPT dots: On ChatGPT Business Premium only help.openai.com · checked Instinct: No country list published instinct.com · checked
Switzerland ChatGPT dots: On ChatGPT Business Premium only help.openai.com · checked Instinct: No country list published instinct.com · checked
India ChatGPT dots: Paid plan only help.openai.com · checked Instinct: No country list published instinct.com · checked
Pakistan ChatGPT dots: Paid plan only help.openai.com · checked Instinct: No country list published instinct.com · checked
United Arab Emirates ChatGPT dots: Paid plan only help.openai.com · checked Instinct: No country list published instinct.com · checked
South Africa ChatGPT dots: Paid plan only help.openai.com · checked Instinct: No country list published instinct.com · checked
Philippines ChatGPT dots: Paid plan only help.openai.com · checked Instinct: No country list published instinct.com · checked
Vietnam ChatGPT dots: Paid plan only help.openai.com · checked Instinct: No country list published instinct.com · checked
Indonesia ChatGPT dots: Paid plan only help.openai.com · checked Instinct: No country list published instinct.com · checked
Malaysia ChatGPT dots: Paid plan only help.openai.com · checked Instinct: No country list published instinct.com · checked
Hong Kong ChatGPT dots: Not listed help.openai.com · checked Instinct: No country list published instinct.com · checked
Singapore ChatGPT dots: Paid plan only help.openai.com · checked Instinct: No country list published instinct.com · checked
Japan ChatGPT dots: Paid plan only help.openai.com · checked Instinct: No country list published instinct.com · checked
Brazil ChatGPT dots: Paid plan only help.openai.com · checked Instinct: No country list published instinct.com · checked
Mexico ChatGPT dots: Paid plan only help.openai.com · checked Instinct: No country list published instinct.com · checked

Freshness

1 row
Fact ChatGPT dots Instinct
Last fact checked ChatGPT dots: Oct 23, 2026 Instinct: Oct 23, 2026

Full details, FAQ and change history: ChatGPT dots · Instinct. Where sources disagree, both claims are on the agent page.

Spotted something wrong or out of date? Report an error · Corrections log